top of page
  • Writer's pictureEryfili

Studio Practice and Experimentation

Updated: May 13, 2020

Online Residency (NL Time)



Tuesday 21st of April

13- 14:00 yoga by Ella

14- 15:00 coffee/ lunch alltogether


16:30-17:00 Reading: The Body Skinned_ Rethinking performative presence- Franzisca Schroeder


18- 19:30 Watching: Orlan- Carnal Art (2001)

22:00 discussion with Foivi on Orlan film


__________________________________________________________________________________

Wednesday 22nd of April

10-11:00 Mariella Meeting

12-14:30 Reading: Designing Practice as Palimpsest - Hillier

Reading: A Palimpsest of Place and Past -William Uricchio


16-17:30 Watching selected videos on skin

18-19:00 Jessica Meeting 19-20:00 Silent walk


NOTES AND THOUGHTS


Email to Emily & Anushka

Before I get to the nice stuff I do want to mention that I was very irritated with myself because I was thinking as if I was writting. And this happened in a past tense. As if I was purposefully reflecting in order to then write. I guess that it is either because we have been urged to reflect so much, or it is just that I have burnt all my brain cells already. When are we ever truly silent?

I live in a vary quiet region of Athens which looks nothing like the city centre. Even before, I was able to walk in the middle of the road and I relied on my hearing in order to avoid cars. In Arnhem, I couldn't do that, because if it is not the cars, it is the bikes. I really enjoyed walking in the middle of the road again. I had a flashback of riding my bike on a big road with closed eyes some years ago. On that same road, I remembered dancing with my friends in the middle of the night. Yes, I did notice much more in my neighbour, not being preoccupied with a conversation, music or destination. But I was mostly filled with memories of the past. With my first love, when we first started dating 10 years ago, we would just walk hand in hand and not speak. We were so peaceful together that we didn't need to speak. In the park, I remembered my second love, where we drunk bottles of cheap white wine before we headed to my home for the first time. I walked by my best friend's house, whom I know for 18 years now and I wondered if it will ever be possible to walk by there, and not think of her, if I could ever forget that house. I went by my elementary school and tried to recall how much it has changed. I passed by my last job, where I was also dancing for so many years as a kid, and I hoped it would be open, full of energy and people. 

I was walking in my neighbour, in my country, and yet I was missing it. Because the town is kept alive by the people being together. I was walking and felt the need to miss and be missed by someone. The need to anticipate to see someone in just a few seconds. 


__________________________________________________________________________________

Thursday 23rd of April

by 11:30 Send me a photo of a particular/ peculiar/ special part of your body's skin. The quality doesn't matter, but try to don't have a noisy backround. If you want, you can also send me 2-3 sentences about what is in the photo.

11:30- 13:00 Foivi's Non linear text <Word-body-associations

13:30- 15:00 Reading: Writting and Skin- Alexandra Winter

16:30- Emily's daydream zone 18:00-19:00 Ella Meeting

20:00- Housewarming party



NOTES & THOUGHTS


Foivi's Non linear text

Free associations carry so many stereotypes that becomes scary. There are conjections, connections and mental links that are so embedded and instictive. It is like the racist example. We are all racists, because the society has made us so, and we try and fight against that but I am not sure if it ever possible to really throw away such engraved unconsious patterns of thinking.


Emily's daydream zone

Carrot cake. A purple sunset that I want to lick and also hang in my wall. A naked hug after sex. The carrot cake I had in Anrhem. Foucault. Individualism. How much time does it take to fall in the ground like an x after jumping from the airplane? This is so peaceful and scary alltohether. Does your heart stop before reaching the ground? My belly is moving. I want to smoke. Did I fall asleep? If this sound didn't belong to my everyday known sounds, what else could it be? what is the time? Lets make a recipe together.



I am keeping:

'I am afraid of what I will become without touch. Already the frayed edges are beginning to show'.


'Touch is how we become part of this human community'.


'The body cannot and does not exist now. Not in life. Not in death. Thousands are disappearing without fanfare or acknowledgment, without family or ritual'.


'I will not kill off my yearning to touch you. I will let it guide me. I will fantasise about it. I will write about it. I will draw it. I will remember us cuddling in January, mad dancing in the protest last July. I will feel the soft skin of your precious hand in mine. I will embrace you as you cry and cherish the wetness of your tears on my blouse. I will feel the fire of rage in my belly and the impossible sorrow in my throat. And I will learn over time how to translate this hunger for your body, for your burning skin, into the making of this most necessary new world'.


__________________________________________________________________________________

Friday 24th of April

09:30-10-:30 yoga by Ella

11:00-16:00 Feedback frameworks

16:30- listen to suggestion by Emily (Ben Spatz) & Mariella's podcast

while Photoshopping



__________________________________________________________________________________

Saturday 25th of April

11:30- 12:30 Jessica collaboration meeting

13:00-14:00 Anushka collaboration meeting

+

Re-Reading: Performance Remains- Schneider

Reading: Reflections on Skin- Crawford

Watching selectes videos on Skin

Photoshop


__________________________________________________________________________________

Sunday 26th of April

Throughout the day: Photoshop & Reading: Embodied Semiotic artefacts: On the role of the skin as a semiotic niche - Bitarello & Queiroz


__________________________________________________________________________________

Monday 27th of April

10:00-14:00 Readings on Archive and Anushka: Eat me whole

14:00-15:00 Meeting with Jessica


16:00-17:00 Sisterhood Meeting

17:30-20:00 Photoshop, Program Notes

20:00 Watching: Carne by Micheline Torres



__________________________________________________________________________________

Wednesday 29th of April



Collaborations


-archives from the age of touch with Jessica Renfo [sound-e-scape]


Invitation



-Tracing Archives with Anushka Nair [collage - photographs]






__________________________________________________________________________________

Saturday 2nd of May


Bibliography


-All the new beginning : A queer autobiography_ Quinn Eades (2015)


-Body Stories_ S. Triantafillou & E. Halivopoulou (2006)


-Intimate Inter-actions: Returning to the Body in One to One Performance_ Rachel Zerihan http://people.brunel.ac.uk/bst/vol0601/rachelzerihan/home.html


-Scarification: Ancient Body Art Leaving New Marks_ Sharon Guynup (2004) https://www.nationalgeographic.com/news/2004/7/scarification-ancient-body-art-leaving-new-marks/


-The Five Senses: A Philosophy of Mingled Bodies_ Michel Serres (1985)


-The book of skin_ Connor Steven (2004)


-A skin that walks- Connor Steven (2002) http://stevenconnor.com/skinwalks.html


-The skin ego- Didier Anzieu (1985)


-The Palimpsest of human brain- De Quincey Thomas (1845) http://essays.quotidiana.org/dequincey/palimpsest_of_the_human_brain/


-Erasure in Art: Destruction, Deconstruction, and Palimpsest_ Richard Galpin (1998) http://traumawien.at/stuff/theory/erasure/erasure_in_art_-_destruction-_deconstruction-_and_palimpsest.html


-Job's Body: Ahandbook for body workshop_Deane Juhan (1987)


-Touching: The human significance of the skin_ Montagu Ashley (1971)


-The Tattoo History Source Book_Gilbert Steve (2001)


-Telling Flesh: The Substance of the Corporeal_ Vicki Kirby (1997)



-Volatile Bodies: Toward a Corporeal Feminism_ Elizabeth Grosz (1994)


-Skin Aesthetics as Incarnation: Gilles Deleuze’s Diagram of Francis Bacon_ J. Zdebik (2009)



-Archive Fever: a freudian impression_ Derrida (1995)


-Endogenous Design and Biofacts: Tissues and Networks in Bio Art and Life Science’,sk-interfaces- _Karafyllis Nicole (2008)


-Sk-interfaces exploding borders : creating membranes in art, technology and society_Hauser J. (2008)


-Carrying Queerness: Queerness, Performance and the Archive_Raymond Justin (2013)


-C-DaRE Conversations: on Touch (2020) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMZwxzsf_aU




Artworks



-Sigalit Landau_Barbed Hula (2000) https://www.sigalitlandau.com/barbedhula


-Claudia Robles Angel _ Skin (2012) http://www.claudearobles.de/


-Effe Halivopoulou_Cunt Cock Riot (2006) http://www.halivopoulou.net/videos.html




-Yann Marussich_Blue Remix (2001) http://www.yannmarussich.ch/perfos.php?p=14



-Pablo Atchugarry_ Emociones de la Piel (2007)



-Christian Rex van Minnen https://www.christianrexvanminnen.com/


-Micheline Torres_ Carne (2009) https://vimeo.com/200185481


-Anne Juren - The Point (2015) http://www.wtkb.org/archiv/ThePoint




To look into


fingerprints

moles

cigarette finger

marks with unknown origin

hairband mark

leprosy

Gestalt psychology

modalities, senses

Hindu philosophy on skin

ephemerality - archive

animals

intimacy

Body Mind Centering

body modification history



__________________________________________________________________________________

Wednesday 6th of May


Body Stories_ S. Triantafillou & E. Halivopoulou (2006)

(free translation)


'In school they told us: your body is a rare violin, you have to keep it safe in its case. Your body is a garden, a temple, a mosque. (...) My body remembers what my mind forgets, in order to protect me from pain and nostalgia' (p.21).


'With(in) me, I carry a thin, vulnerable, liquid network, where my backround and future is archived: actions, gestures, contacts, challenges, suffering, imprints of pain, fear, hope, desperation, desire, ecstacy' (p.24).


Rose ouverte la nuit - Hans Bellmer 1941



'Then I understood: I should celebrate my skin, protect it like an extention of my mind. Under its thin blocks, there was a complicated system, like the one under my scalp, in my hard head. That's why sometimes my father would chase me in order to punish me for something, and he would shout 'I will break your head!'. My head and my skin were encompassing my territory. If someone wanted to get inside and tear me apart, they would have either to scrape my skin, or to break with a hummer the smooth bone surface of my head' (p.31).








'When you are naked, you seem dressed with light. => lichtkleid ' (p.52).


'Sometimes I feel that my skin is like an electrified armor. Sometimes it is a soft transparent veil where the sunrays pass through' (p.63).



__________________________________________________________________________________

Friday 8th of May



-me - [photographic exhibition]




46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page